£17.25 - £32.25

World-renowned pianist Steven Osborne joins the BSO to perform Shostakovich’s wistful concerto, with its famous soulful adagio – an unrestrained delight from start to finish.

When first performed, Sibelius’ dramatic and austere First Symphony unveiled the previously unheard character of Nordic music, sounding both ‘old’ and ‘new’ at the same time.

Mahler (orch. Matthews) Nicht zu schnell
Shostakovich Piano Concerto No.2
Sibelius Symphony No.1
Mark Wigglesworth conductor, Steven Osborne piano

Event details


Age: 14's and under to be accompanied by an 18+ adult

Concessions: Wheelchair users and assistants, full-time students, job seekers. "Kids for a quid".


Discounted parking tickets are available online or at the box office.


No flash photography or iPads are allowed.


Kindly note the advertised price includes a booking fee (BF) of 10%.


No externally bought drinks or any liquids - only certain food will be allowed. See our house rules for more information.


All events at Portsmouth Guildhall include a ticket restoration levy.


See our house rules.


Find out the location of your seat.

Want more?

Make your visit an experience to remember.


Exclusive, relaxed and dedicated!

You can add this option during purchase at TicketMaster or by calling the Box Office

Pre-Order drinks

Pre-order your drinks online or via our app and simply pick them up from your designated collection point.

You can add this option during purchase at TicketMaster or by calling the Box Office

Your browser is out of date!

Using an abandoned browser impacts your security and privacy.

Update your browser to use this site. Update my browser now